A fine collection of paintings, textiles and furniture in the state rooms upstairs illustrates the history of the Ponsonby family, presented as if the Earl was still at home. Downstairs, the fully-furnished Servants’ Quarters survive almost unchanged from the 1903 rebuilding, and were in use until the 1950s.
Stansted Park is now a popular venue for events, weddings, and exclusive corporate use. The award-winning House and Grounds are a popular tourist attraction, a valuable educational resource, sustainably managed for conservation and used all year round.
The Walled Gardens
A yew maze has been planted in the lower walled garden, near to the light railway that runs through the Arboretum, a great fun family attraction. A popular tea room, a farm shop and garden centre are open here all year round.
The Chapel of St Paul
The elegant Regency chapel stands on the site of the first great house and re-uses some of its 15th century masonry and locks. Its stained glass Windows ‘tripple-arch’d and diamonded’ directly inspired the poet John Keats who attended its consecration in 1819. The chapel’s unique east window illustrates the wish of its founder, Lewis Way, to re-unite the Jewish and Christian faiths.
This article is provided courtesy of Stansted Foundation who retains the copyright.